Junior Sailing

June 1, 2020

While we had received some encouraging news on May 20th that summer day camps may reopen on June 22nd, we have regrettably determined that we are unable to adequately abide the needed health and safety guidelines of all concerned while providing an enjoyable learning experience for your children.

It is with regret therefore that we are announcing the cancellation of all our Junior Sailing programs specifically our Wet Feet, Learn to Sail, Advanced Single Handed, Learn to Sail Double Handed and Advanced Double Handed sessions for the 2020 sailing season.

For all processed registrations, a full refund will be automatically issued.

Having completely renovated our fleet of Optimists and 420’s over the winter and early spring in anticipation of this upcoming sailing season, we remain well prepared for next year and look forward to welcoming your children in one of our programs at that time.

Register for Youth sailing speaking series:


Welcome to the Junior Sailing Program of the Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Club

The Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Club offers your child a unique junior sailing experience this summer.

Youth sailors learn about sportsmanship, perseverance, fitness, respect, responsibility and confidence. They develop tight friendships which often last a lifetime.

What makes us proud of our program?


The Club provides sailors with well-maintained and safe boats:



For the junior sailors who would like to use the pool facilities, junior memberships are available for the time the student is registered.


Our programs are designed so your child can follow a natural progression in developing confidence, skills and experience in sailing and looking after a boat. Sailing is a complex sport and mastering it is done in stages. For young sailors, we recommend progressing through:

Junior Program Achievements

OLYMPIANS: Ian Bruce, Peter Bjorn, Evert Bastet, Kai Bjorn, Tyler Bjorn, Chantal Leger


NATIONAL TEAM MEMBERS: Ian Bruce, Peter Bjorn, Evert Bastet, Peter Hall, Kai Bjorn, Tyler Bjorn, Lindsay Staniforth, Ali Mathews, Jen Blanchard, Mimi Winlo, Stephanie Taylor, Sylvie Di Lullo, Megan Armitage

PROGRAM OF THE YEAR: 1988, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2013